If you live in Michigan or were visiting the state and got arrested for an alcohol-related offense, you must contact a Michigan criminal defense attorney right away. You must know your rights, and you must understand the penalties you may face if convicted.
Alcohol Sales in Michigan
In Michigan, alcohol sales are permitted Monday through Saturday from 11 a.m. to 2 a.m. Wine and hard liquor can only be purchased in state run liquor stores from 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday and on Sundays from noon to 5:00 p.m. A person must be 18 years of age or older to serve beer, wine or hard liquor in a restaurant or retail establishment.
DUI Law in Michigan
In Michigan, just like virtually every other state, it’s illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0,08 or higher. If you are convicted of DUI in Michigan, you could face the following:
- Up to 93 days in jail
- Driver’s license suspension of up to six months
- Six points on your driver’s license
- Fines of up to $500
- Community service
- Vehicle ignition lock
A second drunk driving conviction within seven years can result in extended jail time, bigger fines, and a longer driver’s license suspension. If you are convicted of a third DUI offense, you may face felony drunk driving charges.
Minor drivers under the age of 21 may not drive with a BAC over 0.02. If you break this law, you will be charged with DUI and face serious penalties. A first time DUI offender with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02% to 0.07% (the range for minors, specifically) could face a $250 fine and up to 360 hours of mandatory community service. A second offense occurring within seven years could result in a $500 fine, up to 60 days community service and 93 days in jail. If the minor was driving with a BAC of 0.08% or more, he could be charged with a standard OWI, resulting in heftier fines, more hours of community service, up to 93 days in jail for a first offense, and license revocation with mandatory alcohol treatment.
If you are driving on a commercial license, you cannot operate a vehicle with a BAC over 0.04, and drunk driving with a commercial license may result in loss of driving privileges and other penalties.
If you have been charged with DUI or another alcohol-related offense in Michigan, please contact a Michigan criminal defense attorney.